Seriously good literature, film, music and performance from two countries at the (cutting) edge of the world. 

Aussies and Kiwis are a globe-trotting bunch, so where better to take a fresh look at what it means to be Antipodean, and how these two cultures relate to and engage with the rest of the world, than one of the most global, buzzing cities in the world: London.

The 2014 Festival was a chance for audiences to be immersed in more than 60 events with 130 writers, musicians, actors, opinion-makers and rising stars  not only from Australia & New Zealand, but all over Britain and beyond.

That was just the start of this great adventure, with the 2015 Festival taking place in venues across London and in Brighton from 17-31 May 2015. This was a place to challenge, reinvent and turn upside down our expectations about these two nations.

Our goal is to work with our growing community and audiences to create a year-round arts network that supports talent and generates exciting events, new ideas and irresistible opportunities both in London and across the UK.

To keep up to speed with all that’s happening, join our mailing list and follow our regularly updated threads on social media.

View photos from the festival on our Facebook page, and highlights among our 2015 review of events.  If you would like to get in touch you can write to us via the form below.

Behind the scenes


Jon Slack, Festival Director; Vivienne Wordley, Executive Director; Kitty Wright, Membership Manager; Taressa Brennan-Dow and Mary Rahman, Publicists; Hannah Barker, Programme Coordinator; Neil Mitchell, Film Co-ordinator; Doug Wallace, Marketing; Victoria Hunt, Programme Editor; Alex Ivett, Website Editor; Katie Haworth, Website Editor; Aidan Lesser, Production Manager; Hannah Falvey, Production Co-ordinator; Daniel Fletcher, Volunteer Coordinator; Andrew Kuchanny, Film Crew; Svenja Goldhausen, Intern; Marie Glandier, Intern; Erin Bishop, intern

The team is supported by a cast of amazing volunteers.


Carmen Callil; Samantha Cohen; Sarah Cooke; Clare Drysdale; Stella Duffy; Ceilidh Dunphy; Ian Henderson; Lisa Highton; Rebecca Hossack; Ros Kelly AO; Kathy Lette; Sarah Lutyens; Buzz McCarthy; Paula Morris; Noel Murphy; Alessandra Pretto; Cathi Taylor; Colleen Toomey; Trish Wadley


John Dauth, AO LVO; Simon Johnson; Dame Judith Mayhew-Jonas, DBE; Bill Samuel


Nicola Downer, AM; Jon Slack; Bill Samuel; Lady Alexandra Smith; Ken Smith (Chair); Mary Strang; Vivienne Wordley

Sponsors & Partners

We’d like to acknowledge the generous support given to us by our many sponsors and partners. We are supported with core funding from Australia Council for the Arts, Creative New Zealand and the Wheeler Foundation.


Clay’s – Print Partner; Etihad Airways and Virgin Australia – Airline Partners; Grange Hotels – Hotel Partner; King’s College London – Principal Academic Partner; Queensland Government – Office Partner; and Stanfords – Bookselling Partner.


We work with many organisations on individual events including:

The British Museum, Royal Observatory Greenwich, The Menzies Centre for Australian Studies, Sounds Australia, The Tait Memorial Trust, Origins Festival, Picturehouse Cinemas, The Bloomsbury Theatre, Literary Death Match, The Royal Society of Literature, Women on Boards – UK, Australian Book Review, The Australian, The Literary Review, Defibrillator Theatre, Free Word Centre, English PEN, Rebecca Hossack Gallery and the New Zealand Film Commission



Roslyn Kelly AO and David Morgan AO


Helen and Nick Allen; Sarah Cooke; Sir Ross Cranston and Hazel Phillips; Mike Darcey; John Greager; Peter Henshaw and Fargana Karimova; John and Annie McFarlane; New Zealand Society (UK); Siobhan Reddy; Sam and Leanne Walsh; Aviate Global LLP


Australian Women’s Club; John Dauth AO LVO; Andrew Doman and Ruth Tait; Alexander Downer AC; Nicola Downer AM; Diane Foreman CNZM; Karen Goldie-Morrison; Lady Dorothy Hintze; Katherine Johnson; Simon Johnson; Diane Lees CBE; Sally Martin and Christopher Walton; Dame Judith Mayhew-Jonas DBE; New Zealand Women’s Association; Gregory Peacock; Joy Rhoades; Bill Samuel; Geoff and Simone Sewell; Peter Shore; Ken Smith; Sir Lockwood and Lady Alexandra Smith; Mary Strang; Cathi Taylor; David Taylor; Jacqui Thompson and Damian Walsh; Simon Walker AM; Michael Whalley; Mark Wilson; Robyn and Robert Wilson; State of Victoria


Renee Aroney; Elizabeth Baggaley; Tania Bearsley; Margaret Bessendine; Diane Boaden; Diane Brearley; Diane Burley; Julie Burton; Annie Chandler; Georgia Crawford; Bronwyn Curtis; Bonnie-Kate Dewar; Dale Eaton; Kate Ellis; Trish Evans; David Gill; Victoria Gill; Bev Greig; Lisa Harriman; Lyndel Harrison; Fidelma Hewitt; Lesley Hodsdon; Michael Kowalski; Margaret Mayston AM; Charlotte McNamara; Jennifer Meagher; Bhavit Mehta; Eva Menuhin; Julie Mills; Mary Morrison; Greta Mulhall; Stephen Murray; Stephen Nathan QC; Gillian O’Brien; Katie O’Brien; Sean O’Connor; Merrie Palmer-Murray; Nicole Peters; MaryAnn Trevor-Roper; Jacqueline Rowlands; Gillian Scallan; Hilary Timmins; Deborah Todd; Colleen Toomey; Doug Wallace; Bridget Wheeler; Paul Wordley; William Brewer; Prof Michael Hollington; Carmel Lazzaro; Angelei Mann; Ruth Reyburn; Jennifer Newby; Moira Taylor; Alexandra O’Brien; Mary Weston; Kevin Skipworth; Wendy Yorke; Sue Martin; Sally Penni; Dennis Muirhead

Membership as of 31 May 2015

Get in touch

  • Just to let us know you're human.




Support the festival